Dance Like Everyone’s Watching

dance-674749_1280

Dancing is probably one of the most therapeutic things I’ve ever done, or singing, or both! The day after I got the news that my treatment wasn’t happening after all though I had looked forward to being pain and disease free, it all came crashing down. I felt the familiar depression and despair grabbing ahold of me, telling me all the lies that I’ve fought so long.

You’ll never be well. It’s hopeless. You’ll only get worse.

All lies.

It used to be that when I felt down I’d put on sad music and cry with it. Nowadays, I put on my happiest most encouraging worship songs. I fling embarrassment to the side and I dance, I sing at the top of my lungs and have an all-out good time.

Normally they say dance like no one’s watching, but my motto is dance like everyone’s watching. Because they are. Whether I’m at home or out and about dancing my way through the stores to keep myself in a positive frame of mind, occasionally I’m approached by people who tell me how positive I am, how good it is to see someone so happy. They also tell me they wish they could be so happy, no matter what.

Well, I’m here to tell you, I haven’t got it easy. No one does, I have to choose to try to look on the brightest side every day. I still cry, and if people could see into the darkness of my mind some days I’m sure they’d be more than a little concerned. But instead, I dance, I laugh and I think about all the positive things in my life.

When I found out once again that I wasn’t going to be all better, something shifted inside of me, what if I’m never better? It was a panicked thought at first, but as it started to settle I realized just as I tackled college without waiting to better, I shouldn’t be waiting to be “better” to be and do everything that I have in mind.

It’s just another chance to rebuild myself and one day it will just be added to the stories I can tell of how I managed to overcome. So, if you’re having a bad day, loosen up a bit. Put on your favorite song, stand up and dance around and sing at the top of your lungs. (If you get weird looks from anyone around you and they know the song, they should be singing too!)

Dance like everyone’s watching, because they are. And I bet they could use a little brightening up of their day too.

Need a bouncy song to get you started? I’ve got you covered:

One thought on “Dance Like Everyone’s Watching

  1. Pingback: Understudy to Pain | Rebecca Q. Bryant

Leave a Reply

