How to Overcome Writer’s Block

pen-282604_1920

My writer’s block is actually just procrastination in a fancier form. Even though I feel better mentally after I write, the act of starting to write takes FOREVER! A lot of writers have this problem as well, so I decided to share what helps me to write when I feel like I’ve got absolutely nothing.

Just write. I know we hear this advice a lot, but it has changed my life. Even when you don’t know what on earth you could possibly write, just write it out. Maybe it won’t even make sense, maybe it will. Focus on writing frequently, no matter how you feel at the time, you can then make a healthy habit of continuing to write.

Set a time for writing and a time for distractions. For example, often when it’s time for me to write I’m all over social media. I find myself getting lost into YouTube videos I’m not even amused by. If distractions hold you up a lot, give yourself time for them, but not during your writing time! I usually take breaks after 15 minutes to a half an hour depending on how much I can get done during that time.

Have other projects. No matter what I do, usually when I’m about midway through a book I get burnout. I don’t write in it at all, I’m sick of it and I want to erase the whole thing and start over. Do not follow my crazy thinking. Having other projects on the side helps me not to obsess over a story or a novel that I just need a break from, I try to have a short story and a novel in progress at least. I’m very overactive and I love multi-tasking so I may have two novels and a short story going and I jump around from story to story depending on how the mood strikes me.

Find your ideal writing time. My best writing time is in the morning. It doesn’t mean I’m any more motivated to write then, but once I get in the flow early in the morning, it just keeps going. I can write until my fingers hurt and I need a break. I lose track of time and everything else and just let it go.

I know as writers we can easily get caught up in trying to make everything perfect, or working hard to make a career out of it, but let’s not forget the best part of writing. Love what you do and enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “How to Overcome Writer’s Block

  1. Love this!! Going to have to try out some of these. I found you from Morgan Harper Nichols page. 🙂 I am also a writer, and attempting to write my first novel. It’s been a long road, and hoping to really get into the groove of things and get it finished this summer! I would love to read the novel you’re working on and give you feed back if you ever want someone’s opinion! – Brittany

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

