4 tips for Cooking Healthier on a Budget

healthy plate

Healthy eating doesn’t need to be expensive! I know, crazy thought, right? A lot of people may think that one excuse for not living a healthier lifestyle is how expensive it is to cook and eat healthier. However, you’d be surprised at how affordable it actually can be. It really just depends on where you shop and how you shop.

  1. Discount grocery stores

Overlooking discount grocery stores can be a mistake, plenty of times I have found high-quality items at these stores for better prices. A lot of the name brand food items can have very similar comparisons for less, you really are paying for the name. The upside is if you buy fruits and vegetables from here, they will often be ripe already and you won’t have to wait for them to ripen. This also means that you shouldn’t get more than you need at discount stores, but just get enough for the week.

  1. Buy in Bulk

If you have a large family, you can research in your area for places to buy fruits and vegetables in bulk. After some looking around, I found a food terminal in my area where I was able to buy apples and oranges by the box. Or pretty much anything I wanted. This was great for whenever I was making my own juice at home. They have a ton of amazing deals, all you need to do is look around and find them.

  1. Go for leaner meats

Chicken and ground turkey are very affordable. Sometimes I can find deals on fish, but mostly chicken and ground turkey are my go to staples for protein. I’ve switched out ground beef for turkey in quite a few dishes, not only is it healthier, but it’s often more cost-effective as well.

  1. Cook for more than one meal

If you have a lot of food already cooked and ready to eat, you’re less likely to need a lot of junk food on hand for snacking in-between. It also allows you to be prepared to eat many small meals in a day, instead of just three large ones where you are more inclined to overeat. By shopping and cooking in bulk, you can actually save money in the long run. If you have too much, don’t cook it all at once but freeze some for later.

These are just a few tips to get you started, but as always, I started with what I already had. Don’t feel like you have to eat up all the junk food or sweets in your house before you can start making healthier purchases, just start right now a little bit at a time. Buy a head of lettuce instead of the prepackaged bags, try out different vegetables incorporated with your normal meals. It’s the small changes that can help you gradually shift to a more permanent change and a healthier lifestyle.

I’m still working on my own changes and over the years, my body has started to crave more healthy, less processed food. I also don’t feel lethargic when I’m giving my body what it needs to survive, I try to take control of my health in any way that I can and I encourage you to do the same.

If you’d like to check out an easy recipe that I put up on my channel for chicken tenders at home, you can watch that here:

Leave a Reply

