He’s Always Been Faithful

20150413_171804

Most days are hard for me, some days are harder than others. Having chronic pain takes its toll on you emotionally as well as physically. Mentally, every day I have to struggle to hold myself together. I’m already a sensitive person. I feel every emotion to the deepest depths, it helps me to experience joy and love to great extremes, but also sadness and pain. I have something of a pain tolerance, I’m sure, but it still bothers me in the long run. Sometimes I just want to cry and scream. I am weak, I am overcome.

But that’s when I’m strong.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NIV)

I’m always amazed by Paul when he wrote this in the Bible, he had his own suffering to deal with. He begged God and begged God to take it away from him, just like I so often do. Instead, he started to boast about his weaknesses, delight in them even. I’m usually quick  to respond to people who say that I’m strong, that I’m not. I’m sooo not. I’m weak, some days I’m so weak that I don’t know how I can go on another day. I don’t think that I can survive, but somehow I do. But in your weakness, there is strength. In your dark places, there is light.

Life was never meant to be easy, nobody is having smooth sailing out there. But when we encounter ourselves in these places of brokenness, it’s the way that we rebuild ourselves that matters.

There are many things that I don’t have, some things I would like to have but can’t, some things I believe I would need to have. I see prayers being answered for other people left and right and I think, what about me? When’s my big miracle coming?

Soon.

And just like that, little blessings began trickling in. Providing in ways that show me that, not only does God care about my needs, but also about things that I want. The more that I walk by faith and not by sight, the more that I take those little steps every day to just be grateful for the things that I have, the more that things just seem to work out. It’s not any gigantic miracle like I thought, but instead its tons and tons of little miracles that make me dance and sing. It makes my faith grow and it lets me know, he still cares. He never left me, and he never will. On the days like today when I can’t find the energy to go on, I don’t have to. I can be completely and totally weak. I can be broken.

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.  Psalm 34:18 (NIV)

It’s okay to be broken, it’s okay to be worn down and tired. In fact when you’re crushed in spirit, God is closer than ever and it’s all going to be okay. He never said that we won’t have days when we feel like we can’t make it, but that’s when it’s time for us to call in some heavy back up.

If you’re in a place of brokenness right now, know that God loves you and so do I.

You can make it. Just keep going.

8 thoughts on “He’s Always Been Faithful

  1. I love the post. And I feel you have touched on a very important topic as well. Remember Christ came for the sick and not the well, though this is a spiritual reference to health it works as well for the physical. It’s not about being perfect but overcoming the obstacles life likes to put in your way. It is only when our metal is tested that it becomes hardened and we become instruments of usefulness like a sword of truth. In the hands of a master tested metal can cut through anything, hence the story of Excalibur, the unbreakable sword of truth. Only through testing do things become strong. it’s almost as if it were a curse to go too long without something to play the villain so that the hero inside you can emerge.

    So I say blessed are the weak for they will find strength in measures well beyond anyone already healthy can ever comprehend. Amen & keep on being strong!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Because of your weakness you have become a might instrument of change and renewal.

        BTW. Few understand that “taking up the cross daily” means more than carrying your burdens of faith. It actually refers more to dying daily that you may be reborn anew as a new creation. Death to the old that a renewal of spirit may be continual allowing for the dynamics of freedom from the past. This is the sense of the forever now, always being in the present when you are most needed and most in fact present. Only in the now can we be as God through Christ as vessels of change and renewal to the world inside as well as out. So we carry our cross which means “make a stand” or “to take a stand”. We make a choice to give up the old that we may forever be the new.

        Thanks for the post. Keep on being awesome. By the way I would love to keep in touch with more posts. I need to clear out my old follow list but would like to add you. Fell free to drop by my site and leave a friendly hello so I won’t forget you and then I can find you and add you to my new follow list.

        Blessings wonderful sister.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Finding Peace | Rebecca Q. Bryant

  3. Pingback: Praise Through the Storm | Rebecca Q. Bryant

  4. Pingback: Faith and Works | Rebecca Q. Bryant

  5. Pingback: Pemphigus, Rituxan and Myalgia | Rebecca Q. Bryant

Leave a Reply

